You can delete a single category, or delete multiple Categories at once using one action when you delete a category that is permanently deleted ... But if you do not want to permanently delete it from your store, you can disable the appearance of the category on the front store instead of deleting it.
In order to do these steps you can follow these steps :
Go from the control panel to the products and then click on the Categories you want to delete and then click on the icon delete ... Next image for clarification
Also, there is another way is to select a specific category and then click on the icon three points and inside it is pressed at delete ... Next image for clarification
If you want to delete all Categories existing on a category page at the control panel, you can do so by clicking on the icon next image then click at delete icon... Next image for illustration
If you do not want to permanently delete Categories from your store, you can disable the appearance of the product on the front store rather than by deleting it ... it's by going into Status bottom of the page and clicking on the button to Disable this product status. then this product will be disabled and will not appear on the front store ... Next image for illustration